National government

    This document has information about how the Government of Ireland is formed and the roles of the Taoiseach, Tanaiste and Attorney General.

    There are 18 Departments of State. Information about each Department, how they are run and links to their websites.

    The civil service in Ireland are the public officials who advise and assist Government Ministers in running their Departments.

    The Attorney General is the legal adviser to the Irish Government. Outline of their role and functions.